Australia's Premier Project Management Conference / 27 - 28 May 2019 / Gold Coast


Award Criteria
The Award recognises a project of any size that:

  1. Excelled in delivering the desired outcomes and benefits
  2. The project execution met or exceeded the time, cost, and quality goals
  3. The delivery was achieved in the face of a complex or challenging environment, and/or issues or barriers which required superior performance to surmount

This prestigious award recognises an individual project which exemplifies the application of project management to achieving business and stakeholder outcomes. For 2019, recognising the diverse contexts in which projects operate, nominations for categories for “Project of the Year” are sought, with category winners being nominated for the overall Award. These are:

  • Social Impact: Projects which aim to deliver a social benefit, with an emphasis upon Social Responsibility rather than bottom-line driven “triple constraints”.
  • Information and Communications Technology (ICT): Projects which resulted in increased capabilities or value through the implementation of ICT, with demonstrably appropriate project management approaches.
  • Engineering / Construction / Infrastructure: Projects which undertook to deliver significant capabilities through engineered solutions and construction.
  • State or Territory government / Council: Project is sponsored (financed) by a State / Territory government, or a local council, to achieve broad stakeholder outcomes.
  • Federal government department / agency: Project is sponsored (financed) by a Australian Federal Government Departments and Agencies, to achieve broad stakeholder outcomes.
  • Banking / Finance: Projects which are sponsored (financed) by a bank or other financial institution (e.g. credit union, superannuation fund), recognising the unique industry stakeholder expectations.
  • Mining / Utilities: Projects which undertook to deliver significant capabilities through mining / resources and infrastructure development, recognising the unique industry stakeholder expectations.
  • Defence / Aerospace / Avionics: Projects which undertook to deliver significant capabilities in the Defence / Aerospace / Avionics sector, recognising the unique industry stakeholder expectations.
  • Other: Projects which address niche challenges or cross traditional industry boundaries, and which recognise the unique challenges of satisfying stakeholder expectations.

Award Eligibility

  1. Project of any size, type, from any industry, in public or private sectors.
  2. Project originated and managed in Australia.
  3. The project must have been completed between the period 01/03/2018 and 28/2/2019.
  4. Membership of the PMI for at least one project team member is encouraged but not mandatory.

Number of Awards
• One recipient and two finalists will be awarded annually.
• PMI reserves the right not to select any recipients for a particular year if the evaluations performed indicate that nominations do not meet the stated criteria.

Nomination Process
All nominations must use the Nomination Form, available below –

To use the online form –

  • it’s best to save your answers in a separate document, then cut and paste from this into each answer section on the form
  • click the ‘submit now’ button when you have finished

To use the downloadable form –

Please make sure to follow the guidelines provided on the form.

The judging panel may contact the Nominator or Nominee for additional information or with questions, if required to support the application.

Contact us on if you have any questions

Award winners, Queensland Health for their ‘Statewide Management Information System’ at the 2018  Awards and Gala Dinner in Melbourne.

Ready To Nominate

Find Nomination Form on the right OR
click the button below to submit through the online form.

Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.